installing Telldus core from repo on b2?

"The best web gui for controlling your home using Telldus Tellstick"
Post Reply
mountaindude
Posts: 57
Joined: 25 Aug 2007, 11:56

installing Telldus core from repo on b2?

Post by mountaindude » 30 Jun 2012, 06:58

Thought I'd be lazy and install from repo rather than source (nice to automatically get updates too), but it's a fail:
W: Misslyckades med att hämta http://download.telldus.com/debian/dists/stable/Release Unable to find expected entry main/binary-powerpc/Packages in Meta-index file (malformed Release file?)
Well... I guess it's due to the B2 having a different CPU architecture than the B3 (or?)...
Or am I missing something here? Is there a way to get this working?

Otherwise I guess it's back to installing from source (which isn't necessarily a bad thing, of course).

/Göran


Edit:
Installed from source and it was a smooth ride - no problems except that telldusd is not configured to auto-start on boot. An init.d script and rcconf solved that.


dsjodin008
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 Sep 2010, 03:12

Re: installing Telldus core from repo on b2?

Post by dsjodin008 » 08 Dec 2012, 02:55

Edit:
Installed from source and it was a smooth ride - no problems except that telldusd is not configured to auto-start on boot. An init.d script and rcconf solved that.
Hi Göran,

I'm in the same situation, ie have a B2 and tried to install from repository with no success. Done the manual install which works fine except the auto-start on boot. Can you post your solution (both init.d script and rcconf)?

Thx
Daniel

DanielM
Posts: 637
Joined: 28 Mar 2008, 06:37
Location: Sweden

Re: installing Telldus core from repo on b2?

Post by DanielM » 08 Dec 2012, 08:03

This is the init file from the package in the repository. I don't know for sure, but I guess it should work straight off for you. I'm not sure though what the OP means with "rcconf" :?:

/Daniel
Attachments
telldusd.zip
(3.16 KiB) Downloaded 388 times

dsjodin008
Posts: 3
Joined: 25 Sep 2010, 03:12

Re: installing Telldus core from repo on b2?

Post by dsjodin008 » 09 Dec 2012, 14:45

Ok, thanks. I've downloaded it and tried but unfortunately it didn't work... I'm not an expert on this. I found one hick-up and it was the path to telldusd. After I did the manual installation it's located in /usr/local/sbin/
Now it works to start if I'm logged in as root:

Code: Select all

root@b2:/home/daniel# /etc/init.d/telldusd start
Starting the Telldus TellStick daemon : telldusd.
root@b2:/home/daniel# 
It still does not start on boot. There seems to be some problem either with which user starting or itś something about what what init.d script actually are started during boot.

I've tried to understand more by reading Ubi's init.d script for Mediatomb:
forum.excito.net/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3199&p=16006&hilit=startup+script#p16006

He uses below to enable on start up:

Code: Select all

chkconfig mediatomb on
First when I tried chkconfig I only got back that there was no command, but after a quick:

Code: Select all

root@b2:/home/daniel# apt-get install chkconfig
root@b2:/home/daniel# chkconfig telldusd on


It starts after boot! :D
//Daniel

DanielM
Posts: 637
Joined: 28 Mar 2008, 06:37
Location: Sweden

Re: installing Telldus core from repo on b2?

Post by DanielM » 10 Dec 2012, 01:44

dsjodin008 wrote:I found one hick-up and it was the path to telldusd. After I did the manual installation it's located in /usr/local/sbin/
Yes, that's right. The package puts the binary in another location than the source installation does.
dsjodin008 wrote:First when I tried chkconfig I only got back that there was no command, but after a quick:

Code: Select all

root@b2:/home/daniel# apt-get install chkconfig
root@b2:/home/daniel# chkconfig telldusd on
Oh, sorry. Forgot about this. That commands makes some symlinks in the right places to actually call the start script.

Good to hear that it starts now!

/Daniel

mountaindude
Posts: 57
Joined: 25 Aug 2007, 11:56

Re: installing Telldus core from repo on b2?

Post by mountaindude » 14 Dec 2012, 04:38

dsjodin008 wrote:
Edit:
Installed from source and it was a smooth ride - no problems except that telldusd is not configured to auto-start on boot. An init.d script and rcconf solved that.
Hi Göran,

I'm in the same situation, ie have a B2 and tried to install from repository with no success. Done the manual install which works fine except the auto-start on boot. Can you post your solution (both init.d script and rcconf)?

Thx
Daniel
Since doing the above I've replaced the disk in my b2 with a SSD, followed by a fresh reinstall of the OS. And as I now use a Tellstick Net instead of the original one, I never reinstalled the Telldus software on the b2 => Can't check what I did. Sorry.

But if I recall correctly, it was just a matter of compiling from source, installing any dependencies that were missing, trying to compile it again until it succeeded, then using rcconf to set that the binary should start at boot...

meli190
Posts: 1
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 02:28

Re: installing Telldus core from repo on b2?

Post by meli190 » 05 Dec 2013, 02:30

mountaindude wrote:
dsjodin008 wrote:
Edit:
Installed from source and it was a smooth ride - no problems except that telldusd is not configured to auto-start on boot. An init.d script and rcconf solved that.
Hi Göran,

I'm in the same situation, ie have a B2 and tried to install from repository with no success. Done the manual install which works fine except the auto-start on boot. Can you post your solution (both init.d script and rcconf)?

Thx
Daniel
Since doing the above I've replaced the disk in my b2 with a SSD, followed by a fresh reinstall of the OS. And as I now use a Tellstick Net instead of the original one, I never reinstalled the Telldus software on the b2 => Can't check what I did. Sorry.

But if I recall correctly, it was just a matter of compiling from source, installing any dependencies that were missing, trying to compile it again until it succeeded, then using rcconf to set that the binary should start at boot...
Hello guys, i'm having about the same problem, tried both solutions , none worked, any other ideas ?

thanks

DanielM
Posts: 637
Joined: 28 Mar 2008, 06:37
Location: Sweden

Re: installing Telldus core from repo on b2?

Post by DanielM » 05 Dec 2013, 14:41

meli190 wrote:Hello guys, i'm having about the same problem, tried both solutions , none worked, any other ideas ?
In order for anyone to have any chance of helping you, you have to provide at least some basic information, like for example what have you done and where are you stuck?

/Daniel

Post Reply