What is correct way of adding repos to b2/b3?

Discuss development on Bubba
Post Reply
mountaindude
Posts: 57
Joined: 25 Aug 2007, 11:56

What is correct way of adding repos to b2/b3?

Post by mountaindude » 30 Aug 2012, 10:26

I've got a b2 running latest software (i.e. debian 6.0.3 squeeze). With a bunch of Excito specific files in /etc/apt, I am slightly hesitant to start messing around with those files.
Is it for example safe to add repos to /etc/apt/sources.list, such as

# The debian squeeze repository containing unsupported packages that can be used.
deb http://ftp.se.debian.org/debian/ squeeze maindeb http://ftp.se.debian.org/debian/ squeeze main

Or should that line go into /etc/apt/sources.list.d/excito.list?


I guess I should be reading up on the finer points of apt... but I suspect others might have already?


thanks
Göran

johannes
Posts: 1469
Joined: 31 Dec 2006, 07:12
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: What is correct way of adding repos to b2/b3?

Post by johannes » 30 Aug 2012, 15:59

You can safely edit /etc/apt/sources.list, it is not used by the web updater. Moving the web-updaters source to /etc/apt/sources.list.d/excito.list was for this exact reason, that users sometimes edited the standard sources.list to install a package and then by mistake ran a web update (that does dist-upgrade) that messed up the system seriously.
/Johannes (Excito co-founder a long time ago, but now I'm just Johannes)

mountaindude
Posts: 57
Joined: 25 Aug 2007, 11:56

Re: What is correct way of adding repos to b2/b3?

Post by mountaindude » 30 Aug 2012, 16:15

Ah, perfect.
Thanks a bunch!

Post Reply