New user's registration have been closed due to high spamming and low trafic on this forum. Please contact forum admins directly if you need an account. Thanks !

Using ddclient on B3 for use with zoneedit

A collection of tips on howto tweak your Bubba.
Post Reply
a1n
Posts: 18
Joined: 18 Jan 2011, 05:41
Location: Netherlands

Using ddclient on B3 for use with zoneedit

Post by a1n »

Hi, I use zoneedit to update the dynamic IP address to my webserver (and mailserver) on the B3. I use zoneedit because I have a different domain name then the myname.dyndns.com or alike.

My zoneedit account is on the legacy server legacy.zoneedit.com. If you set up ddclient 'out of the box' it does not work for zoneedit servers, appararently some changes have been made to the servers. Here is how I set it up.

Instal ddclient over an ssh terminal. There is a 'howto' use ssh in the user wiki on the excito web site.

Code: Select all

su
(default password on the B3 is 'excito')

Code: Select all

apt-get install ddclient
Answer the parameters that ddclient setup asks you but don't worry too much about what you put in, you are going to override the configuration file

After setup is complete goto /etc

Code: Select all

cd /etc
copy your old configuration, just for good measure

Code: Select all

cp  ddclient.conf  ddclient.old
Open the configuration file with nano (our your preferred editor)

Code: Select all

nano ddclient.conf
... and edit the file to the following content.
New configuration

Code: Select all

# Configuration file for ddclient generated by debconf
#
# /etc/ddclient.conf

pid=/var/run/ddclient.pid
protocol=zoneedit1
use=web, web=dynamic.zoneedit.com/checkip.html,
web-skip='Current IP Address:'
server=dynamic.zoneedit.com
login=YourLoginNameforZoneedit
password='yourpasswordtoZoneedit'       
#don't forget the quotes around the password
yourdomainname.xx, yourotherdomain.xx  
#any fully qualified domain name you want to update separated by a comma.
Close nano and save the file (nano closes with crtl-X)

Test your configuration with the debug mode and check that the dns servers are updated.

Code: Select all

ddclient -debug -verbose /etc/ddclient.conf
Now restart ddclient with

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/ddclient restart
That is it, it works on my B3
Last edited by a1n on 07 Feb 2011, 07:12, edited 1 time in total.
/a1n
RandomUsername
Posts: 904
Joined: 09 Oct 2009, 18:49

Re: Using ddclient on B3 for use with zonedit

Post by RandomUsername »

Hi,

My ZoneEdit account is still on the legacy server and I set up ddclient "out of the box" some time ago.

Do you know if, once my account is switched to the new server, I will have to amend my ddclient config?

Thanks.

Darren.
a1n
Posts: 18
Joined: 18 Jan 2011, 05:41
Location: Netherlands

Re: Using ddclient on B3 for use with zonedit

Post by a1n »

Hi Darren, sorry I don't know if the changeover requires a new setup. I am still on legacy too.

Regards, a1n
/a1n
Post Reply