Using B2/B3 as router with Sky Fibre FTTC broadband.

A collection of tips on howto tweak your Bubba.
Post Reply
RandomUsername
Posts: 904
Joined: 09 Oct 2009, 18:49

Using B2/B3 as router with Sky Fibre FTTC broadband.

Post by RandomUsername » 29 Sep 2012, 11:37

This is specifically relevant to Sky Fibre Broadband but as that is just BT Infinity sold wholesale, it might be of use to other FTTC customers.

FTTC connections require two boxes - a VDSL modem and a WAP/switch/router much like the early days of ADSL before ISPs started supplying all-in-one boxes.

Although the Sky supplied router allows you to set a DMZ up so you can continue to use the B2/B3 as your main network router, the issue with this is that it requires three boxes to be continuously powered on due to Sky using a DHCP authentication method called MAC Encapsulation Routing (MER). Most DHCP clients don't use it but the one in Sky's own router does. It seemed crazy to me that I would need this box switched on 24/7 just to get an IP address for my connection. I'd read that Open WRT supports MER and can act as a replacement for the Sky router so it should be possible to get the Bubba to do the same, and off to the interwebs I went...

The solution is surprisingly simple after thinking I was maybe going to have to build my own DHCP client from source.

First you need to get the default wi-fi key and the MAC address from Sky's router - both are printed on a sticker on the unit and are also available on the router's web interface.

Go to this site and input this information, selecting Sagem F@ST as the router model and It will give you the PPP username and password.

On the Bubba, as root, edit the file /etc/dhcp/dhclient.conf and add the following after the line that says "send host-name "<hostname>;":

Code: Select all

send dhcp-client-identifier "<username>|<password>";
E.g.:

Code: Select all

send dhcp-client-identifier "8c4ca622fra4@skydsl|QZTt6H8ia8OKfJ9";
Connect the WAN port on the Bubba straight into the modem and run "dhclient", your server should now successfully negotiate a WAN IP address and you can carry on about your business. Running "dhclient -v" will give verbose output and should help with any troubleshooting.

/fin

RandomUsername
Posts: 904
Joined: 09 Oct 2009, 18:49

Re: Using B2/B3 as router with Sky Fibre FTTC broadband.

Post by RandomUsername » 16 Jan 2014, 13:57

What? Are you on dial-up? Is this genuine or a spam bot?

Ubi
Posts: 1547
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 09:01

Re: Using B2/B3 as router with Sky Fibre FTTC broadband.

Post by Ubi » 19 Jan 2014, 09:50

spambot . They take a random quote and uid from a forum and copy it to another forum. This makes both the username and the phrasing look genuine. Unfortunately in this case, the content does not....

https://www.google.nl/search?q=%22i+wan ... oadband%22

Binkem
Posts: 388
Joined: 10 Jul 2008, 02:26

Re: Using B2/B3 as router with Sky Fibre FTTC broadband.

Post by Binkem » 19 Jan 2014, 14:22

Spam removed from forum and user banned :)

DanielM
Posts: 637
Joined: 28 Mar 2008, 06:37
Location: Sweden

Re: Using B2/B3 as router with Sky Fibre FTTC broadband.

Post by DanielM » 20 Jan 2014, 02:57

Sorry. I might have been the one approving it. There are really loads of spam coming into this forum (though ordinary users never see it), I don't always read into the posts all that deep. Bastards!

/Daniel

Ubi
Posts: 1547
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 09:01

Re: Using B2/B3 as router with Sky Fibre FTTC broadband.

Post by Ubi » 20 Jan 2014, 05:07

Well the post doesnt look all that strange if you cant see the complete thread. To be honest I havent seen ny real spam on this forum for years, and these very few probes that make it through the initial screening get marked and removed within hours. All in all Id say the mods here deserve a big compliment!

RandomUsername
Posts: 904
Joined: 09 Oct 2009, 18:49

Re: Using B2/B3 as router with Sky Fibre FTTC broadband.

Post by RandomUsername » 20 Jan 2014, 05:18

Ubi wrote:Well the post doesnt look all that strange if you cant see the complete thread. To be honest I havent seen ny real spam on this forum for years, and these very few probes that make it through the initial screening get marked and removed within hours. All in all Id say the mods here deserve a big compliment!
+1

Post Reply