Problem copying files to Bubba

Got problems with your B2 or B3? Share and get helped!
CJNE
Posts: 14
Joined: 29 Feb 2008, 04:11

Post by CJNE » 03 Nov 2008, 03:00

I have experienced another possibly related problem when copying files.
This time bubba don't hang but the transfer rate drops to almost zero.
This happens after i try to convert a bunch of flac files to alac, both the source and destination is my bubba2, so there is both a lot of reading and a lot of writing involved.

After about 50 songs the transfer rates drops to almost nothing. It's not just the converter program that have problems, when i try to copy a file from bubba using finder i also get this problem.

I can log in to bubba just fine when this happens, load looks fine and i can't see anything suspicious in the logs.

A reboot of bubba fixes the problem.

trencarbe
Posts: 103
Joined: 11 Aug 2008, 16:02

Post by trencarbe » 03 Nov 2008, 03:57

another question regarding copying to/from BubbaTwo:

Will this affect Bubba acting as a backup server?


I would like to set it up as a backup server on a remote location, so I'm a bit worried on this copying/performance issue...

udo
Posts: 17
Joined: 25 Sep 2008, 18:10

Post by udo » 03 Nov 2008, 14:13

I have also observed a few problems similar to what is described in this thread

• File transfers between PC and Bubba are slow using Explorer (samba?)
• Processings (unrar, remux etc) files is slow, seems to be limited by read/write speed
• FTP has much better performance, ~6-9 MBps
• Bubba completely stopped responding during FTP transfer 2times on the same day => I had to press reset button
• Another occasion the same day, FTP transfer become extremely slow (a few kBps) but still possible to shut down Bubba via the web admin
• Using mkv2vob on a 8 GB file on Bubba failed during the last part of remuxing the file. Quite annoying as the foregoing transcoding process took some 6-7 hours. Symptoms now is that Bubba has very slow response, moving up and down in directories via Explorer is painstakingly slow, a few attempts to ping Bubba results in lost packets and slow response times (~1500 ms on average).

I am on a gigabit wired network with 1 switch between Bubba and PC.

Hape
Posts: 53
Joined: 01 Nov 2008, 11:21

test II - FTP upload Bubba/Two

Post by Hape » 04 Nov 2008, 04:50

Ok, after the temp/USB-adventure, now a networktest.

Source: Windows 2000 server SP4 / Dell P4 @ 1.5 GHz /785 MB

KNOPPIX.ISO 4.446.812.256 Bytes

100 Mbit network, running through switch, same LAN (192.168.*)

WS_FTP took 1181 sec to get the ISO to the Bubba. (3.7 MByte/sec ~ 38 Mbit)
(tested 3 times, 1177, 1185, 1181 sec)

No interruptions
No hickups

Bubba even remained quite responsive during the transfer in both webinterface and SSH.

Sofar, I could not crash my bubba.

Should I check the revision/serial number of the PCB to compare?


rgds, Hapé

Hape
Posts: 53
Joined: 01 Nov 2008, 11:21

Post by Hape » 04 Nov 2008, 04:56

wehhhhhh Johannes, where is hdparm ??? ;-)

ok ok

#apt-get update
#apt-get install hdparm



# hdparm -t /dev/sda1

/dev/sda1:
Timing buffered disk reads: 130 MB in 3.01 seconds = 43.16 MB/sec

- Haven't used TOP (just forgot about it) JWS, so next test will do so.
- hdparm also works om /dev/ram0 (disregard errors, RAM doesn't want to move 'head' ;-)
Last edited by Hape on 04 Nov 2008, 10:32, edited 1 time in total.

jws
Posts: 60
Joined: 16 Oct 2008, 13:33

Post by jws » 04 Nov 2008, 10:22

Hape wrote:No interruptions
No hickups

Bubba even remained quite responsive during the transfer in both webinterface and SSH.

Sofar, I could not crash my bubba.
I am jealous. What does "top" say about the system load during the copy, BTW?
# hdparm -t /dev/sda1

/dev/sda1:
Timing buffered disk reads: 130 MB in 3.01 seconds = 43.16 MB/sec
I get almost exactly the same value.

BTW are there any other diagnostic test available for bubba2? E.g a memory test?
Regards, Jan

Hape
Posts: 53
Joined: 01 Nov 2008, 11:21

system load is

Post by Hape » 04 Nov 2008, 11:44

Jan,

cpu in % :

proftpd 75-85
pdflush 2-7
kswapd0 1-2
top 1-2
kjournald 0-1

mysqld sometimes pops up with ~ 45% (also seems to be the biggest consumer overall, +TIME 135:42.46 mysqld in 17 hours uptime)

ftd.bin sometimes pops up with ~0.4%
php sometimes pops up with ~20-40% short bursts

Cpu(s): 2.0%us, 44.4%sy, 0.0%ni, 8.2%id, 0.0%wa, 3.6%hi, 41.8%si, 0.0%st

Mem usage is not shocking anywhere.

Might be interesting to keep pdflush monitored, in your situation prior 'crash'.


Nov 6th, 2008:

Meanwhile up 2 days 22 hrs +.

I have not been able to crash this unit. The only big difference I see to date, is that I use 100 Mbit network (as a 'natural' brake?).

JC
Posts: 11
Joined: 09 Nov 2008, 15:31

Experiencing the problem using the torrent client too

Post by JC » 09 Nov 2008, 16:15

I've just purchased my B2 a week ago, and experiencing this problem too. I haven't made many changes to the factory default settings, only changed the hostname in the Postfix main.cf (this isn't doable through the UI), and disabled the services FTP, anonymous FTD, daap, and UPNP.

Last night I started a CIFS download of a 3.6GByte file to my Kubuntu desktop, an when the download had reached 2G Byte the crashed the B2, and blocked everything from UI to SSH. In a couple of minutes the B2 initiated a reboot (LED started blinking), and after a while the B2 was automatically up again. Tried again a couple of times with "top" running and cheching temp with hddtemp, but now the download only was disconnected, and every thing locked up - only removing power could solve the problem. The hdd temp. only raised from 39C to 41C degrades and doesn't seem alarming, and "top" showed showed at least 233MB mem. of 256MB used. I did not success in downloading the file....

Later on I started at torrent download of a torrent Kubuntu DVD image (4.6 GByte) from the B2 UI. This download was using nearly all my bandwidth of the available 4Mbps, and seems pretty fast compared to other torrent downloads I've done with B2. But what I found different was that B2 crashed 3 times during this download, every time locking completely up. The second time the download was on 69% when crashing, and when I had restartet the B2 and to a look on the download it was back to only 23% - as if the downloaded bits haven't been committed to the physical disk.

Could this issue be caused by bad HD parameters in the kernel modules :idea: , as the download speed from B2 to desktop also seems pretty low to me (3-4 Mbit pr. sec.) - even when wired (5-6 Mbit pr. sec.).

BTW I only have a Cisco router, a 100Mbps wired Kubuntu desktop PC and a 54g wireless Kubuntu Labtop on my network.

johannes
Posts: 1470
Joined: 31 Dec 2006, 07:12
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by johannes » 10 Nov 2008, 17:23

Ok, fix released. Please see http://forum.excito.net/viewtopic.php?t=1364

Thank you all for your kindness, patience and help while finding this bug.
/Johannes (Excito co-founder a long time ago, but now I'm just Johannes)

cmcevoy
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Oct 2008, 07:56

Post by cmcevoy » 11 Nov 2008, 08:40

Many thanks,that seems to have done the trick.
You were working late - such dedication is much appreciated!
Charles.

jws
Posts: 60
Joined: 16 Oct 2008, 13:33

Post by jws » 11 Nov 2008, 12:09

This serious problem has been solved in record time. Congrats to Excito!
Regards, Jan

ola
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Sep 2008, 10:24

Post by ola » 12 Nov 2008, 14:01

johannes wrote:Ok, fix released. Please see http://forum.excito.net/viewtopic.php?t=1364

Thank you all for your kindness, patience and help while finding this bug.
I did this above and it worked but now i cant access my samba shares from Vista? I could before the "patch".

/ola

ola
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Sep 2008, 10:24

Post by ola » 17 Nov 2008, 03:52

ola wrote:
johannes wrote:Ok, fix released. Please see http://forum.excito.net/viewtopic.php?t=1364

Thank you all for your kindness, patience and help while finding this bug.
I did this above and it worked but now i cant access my samba shares from Vista? I could before the "patch".

/ola
Bump! 8)

carl
Posts: 474
Joined: 07 May 2008, 04:41

Post by carl » 17 Nov 2008, 08:15

ola wrote:
ola wrote:
johannes wrote:Ok, fix released. Please see http://forum.excito.net/viewtopic.php?t=1364

Thank you all for your kindness, patience and help while finding this bug.
I did this above and it worked but now i cant access my samba shares from Vista? I could before the "patch".

/ola
Bump! 8)
The patch shouldn't affect any functionalities regarding the samba shares at all ( the patch is a low level memory initialization patch); Can you verify that samba is in fact running? Can you look in Settings→Logs→Samba and look for anything suspicious.

/Carl
/Carl Fürstenberg, Excito Software Developer
http://www.excito.com
support@excito.com

ola
Posts: 4
Joined: 16 Sep 2008, 10:24

Post by ola » 18 Nov 2008, 12:20

Yes samba is up and running. I managed to make the "store"-share browsable but i cant delete or modify anything in there. Here is my smb.conf

Code: Select all

global
   workgroup = ilajt
   server string = %h Miniserver
   dns proxy = no

   log file = /var/log/samba/log.all
   max log size = 1000
   syslog = 0

   security = user
   encrypt passwords = true
   passdb backend = tdbsam
   obey pam restrictions = yes
   guest account = nobody
   invalid users = root
   map to guest = Bad User

   socket options = TCP_NODELAY
   preferred master = yes
   load printers = yes
   printcap name = cups
   printing = cups
   show add printer wizard = no
   disable spoolss = Yes

   interfaces = eth1
   bind interfaces only = yes

#======================= Share Definitions =======================

[home]
   comment = Home Directories
   path = /home
   browseable = yes
   writable = yes
   create mask = 0764
   directory mask = 0775
   public = no
   guest ok = no
   hide dotfiles = yes
   user = @users
   browsable = yes # modifed by me

[storage]
   comment = Common storage
   writable = yes
   guest ok = yes
   public = yes
   force group = users
   force create mode= 0777
   force directory mode = 0777
   path = /home/storage
   browsable = yes # modifed by me

[printers]
   comment = Attached printers
   path = /var/spool/samba
   browseable = no
   guest ok = yes
   printable = yes
   use client driver = yes


Post Reply