Page 1 of 1

trying to add smart UPS

Posted: 03 Nov 2008, 10:36
by janeks
Hi!

I found on the net that NUT is capable to do nice UPS management things in Linux and it has good compatible hardware list so I tried to install it just by using apt-get.
But then I found that drived needed has not on that package.

So I tried the more recent version:

Code: Select all

 dpkg -i nut_2.2.2-6.2_powerpc.deb
Selecting previously deselected package nut.
(Reading database ... 33623 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking nut (from nut_2.2.2-6.2_powerpc.deb) ...
dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of nut:
 nut depends on libc6 (>= 2.7-1); however:
  Version of libc6 on system is 2.3.6.ds1-13etch7.
 nut depends on libupsclient1; however:
  Package libupsclient1 is not installed.
 nut depends on udev (>= 0.124-1); however:
  Version of udev on system is 0.105-4.
dpkg: error processing nut (--install):
 dependency problems - leaving unconfigured
Errors were encountered while processing:
 nut
Here I see the needed dependencies, so I tried add them:

Code: Select all

dpkg -i libc6_2.7-15_powerpc.deb                        dpkg: regarding libc6_2.7-15_powerpc.deb containing libc6:
 libc6 conflicts with tzdata-etch
  tzdata provides tzdata-etch and is installed.
dpkg: error processing libc6_2.7-15_powerpc.deb (--install):
 conflicting packages - not installing libc6
Errors were encountered while processing:
 libc6_2.7-15_powerpc.deb
So the question is what could I do with conflicts in such case.

brgds
Janeks

Posted: 03 Nov 2008, 10:44
by carl
libc isn't something you want to replace without consideration, as almost all packages depends on a specific version of libc.

/Carl

Posted: 03 Nov 2008, 14:14
by janeks
Then it looks like I need to compile NUT

Configure seems went well, but I want to compile --with-cgi=yes
But then I am getting:

Code: Select all

configure: error: libgd not found, required for CGI build
I installed it from www.libgd.org:

Code: Select all

bubba:/home/janeks/dls/nut-2.2.2# whereis libgd
libgd: /usr/local/lib/libgd.so /usr/local/lib/libgd.a /usr/local/lib/libgd.la
But then anyway ./configure gives:

Code: Select all

configure: error: libgd not found, required for CGI build
What could be workaround for this?

brgds
Janeks

Posted: 03 Nov 2008, 14:35
by carl
Hehe, I didn't look into the issue enough before; Issue the following to install nut:

Code: Select all

apt-get install nut
or

Code: Select all

apt-get install nut-cgi
or which nut you want, issue

Code: Select all

apt-cache show nut
to see if it what you wanted.
/Carl

Posted: 03 Nov 2008, 14:42
by janeks
Carl!
I allready tried it, but it does not fit for me, because I need more recent NUT version with megatec_usb driver for my UPS.

Re: trying to add smart UPS

Posted: 29 Sep 2009, 07:29
by wil
Janek,
I allready tried it, but it does not fit for me, because I need more recent NUT version with megatec_usb driver for my UPS.
I think you should also get the USB driver:

Code: Select all

apt-get install nut-usb
BTW, did anyone already succeed using NUT with a APC Smart-UPS?

Re: trying to add smart UPS

Posted: 17 Dec 2009, 05:16
by Puma
Hello,

Did someone get Bubba TWO working regarding communication with APC UPS??

I have an old APC UPS 700VA with RS232 connector.

I would be pleased if I could shut bubba two nicely down after a powerfailure.

Thanks in advance.

Puma

Re: trying to add smart UPS

Posted: 28 Dec 2009, 09:49
by kfudd
Another point, do you really even need to shutdown the B2? Considering what a UPS is designed to supply power for, I'd think even a small one could run a B2 for several hours or more.

Re: trying to add smart UPS

Posted: 31 Mar 2010, 19:09
by Cheeseboy
Hi,

I just bought an APC Back-UPS 350. This model uses USB.

I have been reading through this thread before I bought it and I expected that I would have to spend quite some time getting it to talk to the B2, if it was at all possible...

I plugged it into my B2 and installed the apcupsd package and configured it (simplest possible scenario - one UPS and one computer) according to the manual:
http://www.apcupsd.com/manual/manual.html

It just worked. No hassle. The UPS initiates shutdown when the configured battery percentage/time threshold is hit. The B2 then powers off the UPS as it should during shutdown. And then they both come up again when power is restored. Status messages are written to the logs, email notifications are sent etc.

The UPS thinks it can sustain the B2 on battery for 90 minutes, but as I haven't let it fully discharge yet, I guess that might change...

Cheers,

Cheeseboy

Re: trying to add smart UPS

Posted: 01 Apr 2010, 04:50
by Puma
Cheeseboy,

Should this work with my old APC UPS 700VA with RS232 connector when I use a USB => RS232 converter?

Thanks in advance

Puma

Re: trying to add smart UPS

Posted: 01 Apr 2010, 05:19
by Cheeseboy
Puma wrote:Should this work with my old APC UPS 700VA with RS232 connector when I use a USB => RS232 converter?
Hi Puma,

I don't know. From reading up on acpuspd yesterday, it seems the software supports most UPSes from ACP.
There are several different types of protocols they use over RS232, depending on how advanced to model of the UPS, what type of cable etc. There seems to be configuration options for all most of them.

I'd say your main problem would be to set up the USB => RS232 converter.
You can get one for 3.85$ from dealextreme.com. I bought one some time ago, but I never had to use it with the bubba, so I'm not sure how/if it works.

/Cheeseboy

EDIT:
I just found it and plugged it in. At least it is recognized for what it is:

Code: Select all

niklas@bubba2:~$ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 036: ID 067b:2303 Prolific Technology, Inc. PL2303 Serial Port
I have no idea how to set it up though...