proposed bubba home system...

Got problems with your B2 or B3? Share and get helped!
zander
Posts: 141
Joined: 01 Jan 2009, 23:16
Location: las vegas, nv, usa
Contact:

proposed bubba home system...

Post by zander » 02 Jan 2009, 19:02

hi,

i am considering the bubba/two for my home. here is the setup i have in mind...

internet<---->cable modem<----->airport extream<---->bubba/two


dhcp interface via airport wifi with macbook, macbook pro, x86 ubuntu, vista pc laptop, psp, palm lifedrive, ...

will this work including backing up with os x time machine?

thank you,

-zander

:roll: :roll:

Binkem
Posts: 388
Joined: 10 Jul 2008, 02:26

Post by Binkem » 03 Jan 2009, 15:58

I'm not familiar with the airport system, but I guess you should interchange the airport and the bubba so that bubba acts as the firewall between the inbternet and your intranet.

zander
Posts: 141
Joined: 01 Jan 2009, 23:16
Location: las vegas, nv, usa
Contact:

Post by zander » 03 Jan 2009, 16:18

Binkem wrote:I'm not familiar with the airport system, but I guess you should interchange the airport and the bubba so that bubba acts as the firewall between the inbternet and your intranet.
okay, so in the pictures of the back of the bubba/two there are a couple of cat-5 jacks that are labeled "LAN" and "WLAN". so i do as you suggest using those two jacks?

the modem would plug into the "LAN" jack and the airport would plug into the "WLAN" jack. is that right?

and thank you,

-zander

Hape
Posts: 53
Joined: 01 Nov 2008, 11:21

Post by Hape » 03 Jan 2009, 18:41

Again, there is no WLAN port.... Look carefully at the picture @
http://download.excito.net/web/BubbaTwo ... 2_back.jpg

zander
Posts: 141
Joined: 01 Jan 2009, 23:16
Location: las vegas, nv, usa
Contact:

Post by zander » 03 Jan 2009, 20:12

Hape wrote:Again, there is no WLAN port.... Look carefully at the picture @
http://download.excito.net/web/BubbaTwo ... 2_back.jpg
my bad. so do i plug the airport into the WAN port?

pa
Posts: 308
Joined: 06 Dec 2006, 04:38
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by pa » 04 Jan 2009, 04:03

Hi,

In the case you describe you should plug the WAN port to your cable modem and LAN port to your airport.

Please see the manual for different network setups:
http://bubba-stable/manual/?page=networ ... tions.html

/PA

Binkem
Posts: 388
Joined: 10 Jul 2008, 02:26

Post by Binkem » 04 Jan 2009, 15:40

WAN is short for Wide Area network i.e. the Internet (and not Wireless (Local) Area Network) that will be the misinterpretation

zander
Posts: 141
Joined: 01 Jan 2009, 23:16
Location: las vegas, nv, usa
Contact:

Post by zander » 04 Jan 2009, 23:44

Binkem wrote:WAN is short for Wide Area network i.e. the Internet (and not Wireless (Local) Area Network) that will be the misinterpretation

cool! thank you all.

the next question is if i have the airport should i wait for the wlan option to be deployed?

my thinking is that if i pickup bubba now i will save little money and get a new toy a little sooner. (i want one bad! :wink: )

and if i want to eliminate the airport i could always do that later.


thank you,

-zander

Binkem
Posts: 388
Joined: 10 Jul 2008, 02:26

Post by Binkem » 05 Jan 2009, 03:29

I did the same. I've got my router behind my Bubba and will get the WLAN option when it appears.

Hammer2
Posts: 15
Joined: 07 Oct 2008, 03:18

Post by Hammer2 » 07 Jan 2009, 08:49

What is the issue with WLAN?

I have used WLAN with the Bubba2 since I got it. Just plug in a wireless AP, configure it to accept DHCP or use static, and it's rock'n roll.


/Hammer

Binkem
Posts: 388
Joined: 10 Jul 2008, 02:26

Post by Binkem » 07 Jan 2009, 09:06

I want to eliminate another power-consuming device that is active 24/7 (the wireless router) so that only the bubba will be active all the time.

zander
Posts: 141
Joined: 01 Jan 2009, 23:16
Location: las vegas, nv, usa
Contact:

Post by zander » 07 Jan 2009, 17:02

Binkem wrote:I want to eliminate another power-consuming device that is active 24/7 (the wireless router) so that only the bubba will be active all the time.
that is a valid reason to pickup the wlan option when it is finally deployed.

Hammer2
Posts: 15
Joined: 07 Oct 2008, 03:18

Post by Hammer2 » 08 Jan 2009, 01:22

Fair enough.

I wonder how much extra power the WLAN option will consume, it's certainly not zero.

zander
Posts: 141
Joined: 01 Jan 2009, 23:16
Location: las vegas, nv, usa
Contact:

Post by zander » 08 Jan 2009, 02:07

Hammer2 wrote:Fair enough.

I wonder how much extra power the WLAN option will consume, it's certainly not zero.
my airport extream uses a steady 3 watts. that is not much. i can't imagine that the refit would be much better. -the kirchoff laws you know-

bubba 2 now draws 7 to 12 watts (disk dependent). i bet she draws up to 15 once you add the wireless. although it could be as low as 1 or 2 watts. i'll pro'lly use my bubba2 as is until my airport fails.

Binkem
Posts: 388
Joined: 10 Jul 2008, 02:26

Post by Binkem » 08 Jan 2009, 02:27

There may be a difference between power consumption at the plug and the power consumption of the device due to the fact that there is a transformer in between. I'm not sure where Bubba's (or the airport's)power consumption was measured.

Post Reply