OS X Lion and Time Machine on the B3 doesn't work.

Got problems with your B2 or B3? Share and get helped!
Post Reply
NisseJ
Posts: 40
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 07:55
Location: Sweden
Contact:

OS X Lion and Time Machine on the B3 doesn't work.

Post by NisseJ » 02 Jul 2011, 16:28

Well, i have noticed that OS X Lion doesn't like using my B3 for time machine. It seems there is some changed security in how the mac sees the b3. When i have been searching for a solution it looks like netatalk 2.2 has Lion support so well, my wish is that this package is upgraded :)

I will also try to upgrade it manually.

NisseJ
Posts: 40
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 07:55
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: OS X Lion and Time Machine on the B3 doesn't work.

Post by NisseJ » 02 Jul 2011, 16:52

I found some nice info aswell that can be used for Time Machine functionality which makes it possible to use TM on a Mac to the B3 without hacking anything on the client.

If doing the changes in /etc/netatalk/AppleVolumes.default as stated here http://www.bootc.net/archives/2010/11/0 ... -netatalk/

And also adding the:

Code: Select all

<service>
 <type>_adisk._tcp</type>
 <port>9</port>
 <txt-record>sys=waMA=«MAC Address»,adVF=0x100</txt-record>
 <txt-record>dk0=adVF=0x83,adVN=Time Machine</txt-record>
</service>

in the /etc/avahi/services/afpd.service makes the Mac find the Time Machine easily. Change the «MAC Address» to your B3s eth1 and type it with the : (00:22:02:xx:xx:xx)
Sadly i didn´t find this info before i upgraded my main partition to Lion :) Gotta test this on a Snow Leopard mac anyhow.

carl
Posts: 474
Joined: 07 May 2008, 04:41

Re: OS X Lion and Time Machine on the B3 doesn't work.

Post by carl » 08 Dec 2011, 11:54

I've added netatalk 2.2.1 now to the unstable repository (vincent). As of yet untested using lion, but we'll going to test it asap.

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk
/Carl Fürstenberg, Excito Software Developer
http://www.excito.com
support@excito.com

NisseJ
Posts: 40
Joined: 09 Jan 2011, 07:55
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: OS X Lion and Time Machine on the B3 doesn't work.

Post by NisseJ » 08 Dec 2011, 14:09

How do i do to switch to the unstable repository? I will gladely test it :)

Satrap
Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Jan 2012, 15:50

Re: OS X Lion and Time Machine on the B3 doesn't work.

Post by Satrap » 13 Jan 2012, 15:58

NisseJ wrote:How do i do to switch to the unstable repository? I will gladely test it :)
yeah, would be nice to know what to add. I'd like to test it too.

Satrap
Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Jan 2012, 15:50

Re: OS X Lion and Time Machine on the B3 doesn't work.

Post by Satrap » 13 Jan 2012, 20:56

I installed netatalk 2.2.1 from unstable rep. and it seems to work. I will test it couple days more.

Ubi
Posts: 1547
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 09:01

Re: OS X Lion and Time Machine on the B3 doesn't work.

Post by Ubi » 14 Jan 2012, 04:48

Satrap, as it seemed that some users have difficulty reproducing your action, could you write a recipe of what you did on the forum (anabling the repo, apt-get update etc) so that other users with the same problem can get their answers quickly?
thanks!

Satrap
Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Jan 2012, 15:50

Re: OS X Lion and Time Machine on the B3 doesn't work.

Post by Satrap » 15 Jan 2012, 05:30

Good mornng,

now it's already running for >30 hrs with hourly backups (adding and removing gigabytes of stuff to backup) and it seems to work well. At least the backup part, didn't tried to recover anything yet :)

What I did:

Add unstable repository by editing /etc/apt/sources.list.d/excito.list
just add at bottom of the file

Code: Select all

deb http://b3.update.excito.org vincent main
run

Code: Select all

apt-get update
and

Code: Select all

apt-get install netatalk
Once it's done Lion's Time Machine will see your B3 box in "Select Disk" config and you can
backup your Mac to public folder "out of the box".

mark
Posts: 5
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 15:49

Re: OS X Lion and Time Machine on the B3 doesn't work.

Post by mark » 21 Jan 2012, 15:11

Thanks Satrap, it is working fine on my OSX Lion as well!
I have added one more things to your tutorial, as I wanted to do the backup to an external disk, connected by USB to my b3. That way, Time Machine will not fill my entire b3 harddisk with backups...

For anybody who wants to do the same thing:
First, mount the external USB disk in the b3 web interface and take note of the mount path. For me it was /home/storage/extern/TimeMachine-1

After the steps of Satrap:

Code: Select all

vi /etc/netatalk/AppleVolumes.default
At the bottom you will find two lines that describe the default shares that will be available, with the names "User Share" and "Public Share". After those, you can add your own shares. Like for example:

Code: Select all

/home/storage/extern/TimeMachine-1 "Time Machine" cnidscheme:dbd dpath:/var/lib/netatalk fperm:0664 dperm:0775
The only thing you then have to do, is restart netatalk and the new share will also appear in the TimeMachine configuration:

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/netatalk restart
Enjoy!

Ubi
Posts: 1547
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 09:01

Re: OS X Lion and Time Machine on the B3 doesn't work.

Post by Ubi » 22 Jan 2012, 05:37

Indeed it works brilliant.

One note is that time machine will eat your whole partition, and there's nothing to config about it. So better make a separate partition for time machine first!

* first SSH into the box as root DIRECTLY. You may need to alter AllowRootLogin in /etc/ssh/sshd_config for this.

then check if the home partition is unlocked:

Code: Select all

lsof | grep home
This command should not give output.

Now, umount the home partition, and resize the ext3 partition. Here I change my 920GB home partition into an 800GB partition. BACKUP your stuff before doing this!!

Code: Select all

umount /home
resize2fs /dev/mapper/bubba-storage 800G
This may take a long time. If your connection dies in the middle of the operation you are SOL. So maybe let the "at" daemon do it. First type "at now", then you get a prompt. Enter the resize command, enter, control-D to execute. Try this with a simple command first if you never used at.

Now reduce the LVM volume

Code: Select all

lvreduce /dev/mapper/bubba-storage 800G
And then create and format the a new partition

Code: Select all

 lvcreate -l 100%FREE -n timemachine bubba
mke2fs -j /dev/bubba/timemachine
Make the new mount point and add an entry in /etc/fstab

Code: Select all

mkdir /timemachine
cp /etc/fstab /etc/fstab.ori
echo "/dev/mapper/bubba-timemachine           /timemachine    ext3    defaults                0       2" >> /etc/fstab
mount -a
df -h
This last command should now report the timemachine volume.

Thanks everyone who contributed to this thread. I now have a happy girlfriend and a non-empty bank account!

Ubi
Posts: 1547
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 09:01

Re: OS X Lion and Time Machine on the B3 doesn't work.

Post by Ubi » 22 Jan 2012, 12:20

I made a new wiki entry that hopefully combines this thread into a sinlge recipe. Please have a look and let me know of the unclarities and mistakes that may still be in there
http://wiki.excito.org/wiki/index.php/TimeMachine2

Anonymous777
Posts: 6
Joined: 30 Oct 2011, 18:29

Re: OS X Lion and Time Machine on the B3 doesn't work.

Post by Anonymous777 » 06 Mar 2012, 10:31

Ubi wrote:I made a new wiki entry that hopefully combines this thread into a sinlge recipe. Please have a look and let me know of the unclarities and mistakes that may still be in there
http://wiki.excito.org/wiki/index.php/TimeMachine2
Ubi, thanks for the tutorial. An improvement would be to limit backup size not by resizing the partition, but creating custom .sparsebundle. Imagine having multiple Macs that do TM backups. Another good reason to do it that way is a possibility to make the backup FileVault2 encrypted. (See http://michaelnozbe.com/mac-osx-lion-se ... capsule-wi ) I'm currently fighting to achieve that on B3 and will report if there will be some success. The link above is not 100% correct so there are obstacles to overcome.

rdaneel
Posts: 34
Joined: 28 Jan 2009, 16:33

Re: OS X Lion and Time Machine on the B3 doesn't work.

Post by rdaneel » 08 Jul 2012, 06:04

The way this should be done on an external disk is not in tutorial.
I 'm trying (and failing) to do this on my external storage disk

rdg

nobody
Posts: 226
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 14:46

Re: OS X Lion and Time Machine on the B3 doesn't work.

Post by nobody » 08 Jul 2012, 11:03

well considering you did not state what part failed it's kinda hard for anyone to comment anything meaningful here. In principle though it should be easier to perform on an external drive.

mjamting
Posts: 1
Joined: 04 Aug 2012, 05:54

Re: OS X Lion and Time Machine on the B3 doesn't work.

Post by mjamting » 04 Aug 2012, 06:03

Hello,

I followed the instructions on http://wiki.excito.org/wiki/index.php/TimeMachine2 and created a lvm-partition for the TM backup. This was long before the latest version of the bubba software was released.

The new functionality seems better to me, can anyone help me and tell me how to remove the timemachine partition and expand the original partition to cover the whole disk. Basically add the outlines how to undo the steps in the wiki-tutorial.

Thanks!

Post Reply