B3 not seen in all ip- networks

Got problems with your B2 or B3? Share and get helped!
Post Reply
pcrene
Posts: 305
Joined: 17 May 2008, 15:49

B3 not seen in all ip- networks

Post by pcrene » 25 Mar 2012, 11:02

Hello all,

Strange problem. I am in a upc/chello network starting e.g with 1.x.x.x
My friends are also in the upc/ chello network but cannot reach my B3 ( even made thr B3 DMZ).
Other friends from outside the upc/ chello network do not have problems in finding my B3.

I think the problem is upc/ chello but before i start a real fight with them i have a question for the forum.

Does a standart B3 have the possebility to block ip- adresses if they access the B3 too often.

Rene
B3 1T + B-Stor 2T, B2 1T as backup
40 users active....
Opensat4all.Com

Gordon
Posts: 1373
Joined: 10 Aug 2011, 03:18

Re: B3 not seen in all ip- networks

Post by Gordon » 26 Mar 2012, 06:33

Hi Rene,

I'd guess UPC has explicitly configured their network to not allow routeback to other UPC customers. They'll most likely have done this to prevent customers from seeing each others Windows shares and probably don't care that this also blocks traffic that people might actually want. In fact, they may even like that this also prevents their customers from exchanging torrents - quite a hot item in "free" Netherlands.

AFAIK a standard B3 has no "hammering" protection.

pcrene
Posts: 305
Joined: 17 May 2008, 15:49

Re: B3 not seen in all ip- networks

Post by pcrene » 26 Mar 2012, 12:51

Thanks,

I read on www.chelloo.com that i am not the only one.
Until 16 march no problem.. It is sesorship :evil:

Rene
B3 1T + B-Stor 2T, B2 1T as backup
40 users active....
Opensat4all.Com

Post Reply