Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.org ..

Got problems with your B2 or B3? Share and get helped!
retomschmid
Posts: 9
Joined: 09 May 2012, 16:11

Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.org ..

Post by retomschmid » 10 May 2012, 12:11

Hi,

When trying to 'apt-get update' (while having root access) I'm getting the message:
'Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.org:http' (-5 - No address associated with hostname) ...
See below for more details.

What is it I'm doing wrong? I can access 'http://b3.update.excito.org/' over the browser though.

Thank you

PS:
I'm having problems with squeezecenter which I posted separately ('Can't access http://b3:9000'). Don't know whether there is a link between these 2 issues.

More details =======================
Hit http://ftp.se.debian.org squeeze Release.gpg
Ign http://ftp.se.debian.org/debian/ squeeze/main Translation-en
Err http://b3.update.excito.org elvin Release.gpg
Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.org:http' (-5 - No addre ss associated with hostname)
Hit http://ftp.se.debian.org squeeze Release
Err http://b3.update.excito.org/ elvin/main Translation-en
Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.org:http' (-5 - No addre ss associated with hostname)
Err http://b3.update.excito.org upstream_squeeze Release.gpg
Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.org:http' (-5 - No addre ss associated with hostname)
Err http://b3.update.excito.org/ upstream_squeeze/main Translation-en
Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.org:http' (-5 - No addre ss associated with hostname)
Ign http://ftp.se.debian.org squeeze/main armel Packages
Ign http://b3.update.excito.org elvin Release
Hit http://ftp.se.debian.org squeeze/main armel Packages
Ign http://b3.update.excito.org upstream_squeeze Release
Ign http://b3.update.excito.org elvin/main armel Packages
...

DanielM
Posts: 637
Joined: 28 Mar 2008, 06:37
Location: Sweden

Re: Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.or

Post by DanielM » 11 May 2012, 01:46

I would say there's something strange in the DNS configuration of your B3. Check in the settings (somewhere in the web admin gui) and compare if it says the same as your computer (the one from which you could access b3.update.excito.org from the browser) does.

By the way, can you ping b3.update.excito.org from your B3?

/Daniel

Gordon
Posts: 1349
Joined: 10 Aug 2011, 03:18

Re: Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.or

Post by Gordon » 11 May 2012, 09:03

Hard to say without knowing your configuration. Is your B3 configured for
- Automatic network settings
- Router + Firewall + Server
- Server only

How is your workstation connected to the network and internet and where does the B3 sit in this?

On the B3, can you ping your workstation? Can you also ping your router/modem if applicable? If you enter the command 'host b3.update.excito.org' does it return a numeric IP address? Verify that the 'nameserver' entries in /etc/resolv.conf are valid and that you can reach them (i.e. ping).

retomschmid
Posts: 9
Joined: 09 May 2012, 16:11

Re: Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.or

Post by retomschmid » 11 May 2012, 14:00

Yes, from my B3 I can:
ping my DSL modem
ping b3.update.excito.org
ping my primary DNS and my gateway
I missed to enter the command 'host b3.update.excito.org' -> I’ll do that tomorrow (NAS is in office)

My B3 is attached (LAN cable) to my router which is also my DSL modem.
My B3’s network profile is set to ‘automatic’ -> should I manually set it to ‘server only’ (rather than router firewall and server)?
IP address, gateway, subnet mask, DNS, … match -> B3 is using automatic network settings

Thanks

nobody
Posts: 226
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 14:46

Re: Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.or

Post by nobody » 12 May 2012, 03:08

unless all your clients at your office use the B3 to go to the internet (which is unlikely in the setup you describe) I would say switch your B3 to 'server only' mode.

retomschmid
Posts: 9
Joined: 09 May 2012, 16:11

Re: Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.or

Post by retomschmid » 12 May 2012, 12:24

Now I changed to 'server only'; unfortunately, this did not help / nothing changed.

My B3 cannot ping my workstation! -> Is this a problem, what is it I need to do? Can this be a McAfee issue?
My workstation can ping my B3 though.
Entering the command 'host b3.update.excito.org' on my B3 returns 'b3.update.excito.org has address 213.180.93.143'. I can ping 213.180.93.143 from my B3.
Yes, I can ping the nameserver listed in file /etc/resolv.conf

Does possibly the excito website have a problem causing my issues?
Or is the fact 'my workstation not pingable by my B3' the reason for my problem?

Regards

Gordon
Posts: 1349
Joined: 10 Aug 2011, 03:18

Re: Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.or

Post by Gordon » 13 May 2012, 05:07

retomschmid wrote:Does possibly the excito website have a problem causing my issues?
Or is the fact 'my workstation not pingable by my B3' the reason for my problem?
No, this was to establish whether the problem was with networking in general (local cause) or due to routing and/or name resolving (external cause). I'm actually stumped as all appears to be functioning correctly, so there should be no reason for apt to return the error you're seeing.

DanielM
Posts: 637
Joined: 28 Mar 2008, 06:37
Location: Sweden

Re: Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.or

Post by DanielM » 13 May 2012, 13:51

What happens if you do something like

Code: Select all

wget http://b3.update.excito.org/dists/elvin/Release.gpg
? I'm thinking for some strange reason your b3 simply can't reach the update server on port 80...

/Daniel

Gordon
Posts: 1349
Joined: 10 Aug 2011, 03:18

Re: Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.or

Post by Gordon » 14 May 2012, 06:22

I did some further looking into this and it appears to be a recurring problem for some years now. The problem is in fact caused by a DNS issue. To be more specific this is about the DNS client modules being used, so while 'host' and 'ping' may work, 'apt' and probably 'wget' can fail.

Prior issues name facts like IPV6 only boxes being the target of this issue, WINS as the primary name server lookup service and bad entries in the hosts file. One of the causes that seem very plausible is that the DNS queries from apt are timing out against slow DNS servers (due to apt setting a low timeout value). Proposed fixes are to switch to a different DNS server like OpenDNS or Google.

But why bother? The B3 is running its own DNS server, which should be blazing fast when accessed from the local host if only it would do that. For this to work we'll need to instruct DNSmasq to reference a different file than the regular resolv.conf, so that we can change that file to reference ourselves:

Code: Select all

# Copy the resolv.conf file to an alternate location
cp /etc/resolv.conf  /var/lib/dnsmasq/

# Create an include config file for DNSmasq
echo "resolv-file=/var/lib/dnsmasq/resolv.conf" > /etc/dnsmasq.d/resolvconf.conf

# Restart the DNSmasq service to let the change take effect
/etc/init.d/dnsmasq restart

# Now make the box use it's own DNS service
echo "nameserver 127.0.0.1" > /etc/resolv.conf
That should do it...

Gordon
Posts: 1349
Joined: 10 Aug 2011, 03:18

Re: Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.or

Post by Gordon » 15 May 2012, 04:07

Note: to make the previous a permanent change, you should edit the file /etc/dhcp/dhclient.conf
request subnet-mask, broadcast-address, time-offset, routers,
  • [/color]domain-name, domain-name-servers,host-name,
  • [/color]netbios-name-servers, netbios-scope;
timeout 10;

Remove the element marked in red to prevent the DHCP client to overwrite /etc/resolv.conf

retomschmid
Posts: 9
Joined: 09 May 2012, 16:11

Re: Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.or

Post by retomschmid » 15 May 2012, 12:57

Thank you.

Having done above, I'm still getting SIMILAR errors (see below).

Do you have another tip?

Regards

root@b3:/etc# apt-get update
Err http://ftp.se.debian.org squeeze Release.gpg
Could not resolve 'ftp.se.debian.org'
Err http://ftp.se.debian.org/debian/ squeeze/main Translation-en
Could not resolve 'ftp.se.debian.org'
Err http://b3.update.excito.org elvin Release.gpg
Could not resolve 'b3.update.excito.org'
Err http://b3.update.excito.org/ elvin/main Translation-en
Could not resolve 'b3.update.excito.org'
Err http://b3.update.excito.org upstream_squeeze Release.gpg
Could not resolve 'b3.update.excito.org'
Err http://b3.update.excito.org/ upstream_squeeze/main Translation-en
Could not resolve 'b3.update.excito.org'
Reading package lists... Done
W: Failed to fetch http://b3.update.excito.org/dists/elvin/Release.gpg Could not resolve 'b3.update.excito.org'

W: Failed to fetch http://b3.update.excito.org/dists/elvin ... on-en.lzma Could not resolve 'b3.update.excito.org'

W: Failed to fetch http://b3.update.excito.org/dists/upstr ... elease.gpg Could not resolve 'b3.update.excito.org'

W: Failed to fetch http://b3.update.excito.org/dists/upstr ... on-en.lzma Could not resolve 'b3.update.excito.org'

W: Failed to fetch http://ftp.se.debian.org/debian/dists/s ... elease.gpg Could not resolve 'ftp.se.debian.org'

W: Failed to fetch http://ftp.se.debian.org/debian/dists/s ... on-en.lzma Could not resolve 'ftp.se.debian.org'

W: Some index files failed to download, they have been ignored, or old ones used instead.
root@b3:/etc# root@b3:/etc#

DanielM
Posts: 637
Joined: 28 Mar 2008, 06:37
Location: Sweden

Re: Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.or

Post by DanielM » 15 May 2012, 13:37

retomschmid wrote:Thank you.

Having done above, I'm still getting SIMILAR errors (see below).

Do you have another tip?
Not a good solution, but a quick workaround might be putting the following lines in your /etc/hosts:

Code: Select all

213.180.93.143	b3.update.excito.org
130.239.18.163	ftp.se.debian.org
/Daniel

Gordon
Posts: 1349
Joined: 10 Aug 2011, 03:18

Re: Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.or

Post by Gordon » 15 May 2012, 14:15

I agree. If all fails that has to be the only remaining (and hazardous) trick.

Still... Can you verify with the host or ping command that nameresolving is actually still functional? i.e. that not something else went wrong in this scheme? The current message seems to indicate that nameresolving just fails instead of timing out.

nobody
Posts: 226
Joined: 10 Mar 2012, 14:46

Re: Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.or

Post by nobody » 15 May 2012, 15:06

I think I saw this issue some time ago, it had to do with routing rather than dns itself. It was confirmed by firing up iptraf on a parallel session and watching where the port 53 traffic went.

retomschmid
Posts: 9
Joined: 09 May 2012, 16:11

Re: Something wicked happened resolving 'b3.update.excito.or

Post by retomschmid » 17 May 2012, 11:25

Thank you for your help.
I gave up and installed my B3 new from USB stick (I had to try several different USB sticks and holding down the power button longer than described).
Are these (on my B3) the most current versions:
bubba 2.4.1.1
bubba-album 2.4
bubba-backend 2.4.1.1
bubba-frontend 2.4.0.7
bubba3-kernel 1:2.6.39.4-11
filetransferdaemon 0.54
logitechmediaserver 7.7.1.dfsg1-7

Now, when trying to update (or check) my B3 software via the configuration web page, then I'm getting an error message saying 'No functional Internet connection was found'. This happens even if I deactivate my McAfee firewall. At least from my PC I can access the internet without any problems.

Can you help here too? I'd like to resolve these issue since I don't want to reinstall my B3 from scratch / USB stick next time there is a sw upgrade available.

Regards

Post Reply