New user's registration have been closed due to high spamming and low trafic on this forum. Please contact forum admins directly if you need an account. Thanks !

B3 dies without errors

Got problems with your B2 or B3? Share and get helped!
Cheeseboy
Posts: 789
Joined: 08 Apr 2007, 12:16

Re: B3 dies without errors

Post by Cheeseboy »

Here is the syslog covering my last crash/total hang.
This time I gave it 15 minutes before pulling the plug.
Nov 20 02:31:25 b3 hostapd: wlan0: STA 00:23:76:fa:87:23 IEEE 802.11: authenticated
^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@^@Nov 20 02:48:07 b3 kernel: imklog 4.6.4, log source = /proc/kmsg started.
Wow! :-)
pcrene
Posts: 305
Joined: 17 May 2008, 15:49

Re: B3 dies without errors

Post by pcrene »

Bello cheeseboy (dutch?)

my B3 is running from THE start no hangups, fast and no problems.
What do you think happend? did you install anything special?

Rene
B3 1T + B-Stor 2T, B2 1T as backup
40 users active....
Opensat4all.Com
Cheeseboy
Posts: 789
Joined: 08 Apr 2007, 12:16

Re: B3 dies without errors

Post by Cheeseboy »

Hi Rene,
(dutch?)
No, yet another swede (but I used to live in Utrecht back in 1998-99, I miss the the cheese with mustard seeds in it)

I've installed tons of stuff :-)
Every time I read about something I have to try it out. More often than not I leave it installed.
Do you have the WiFi version of B3?

Cheers
Ubi
Posts: 1549
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 09:01

Re: B3 dies without errors

Post by Ubi »

Cheeseboy wrote: No, yet another swede (but I used to live in Utrecht back in 1998-99, I miss the the cheese with mustard seeds in it)
It was probably cumin, not mustard :P

ubi
Cheeseboy
Posts: 789
Joined: 08 Apr 2007, 12:16

Re: B3 dies without errors

Post by Cheeseboy »

Hi Ubi,

I tasted the cumin cheese (similar cheese is also available in Sweden), also Gouda (or Gouda analogue) with chives in it.
But there was definitively a hard yellow cheese with mustard seeds in it, and it was wonderful.
The seeds popped in my mouth like small grenades of flavour when I chewed it...

If I remember correctly, there was no brand name, just generic Albert Heijn cheese, shrink-wrapped in plastic and cheep.

Sorry for killing the thread by being off-topic, but this subject is actually closer to my heart :-)
Ubi
Posts: 1549
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 09:01

Re: B3 dies without errors

Post by Ubi »

I'll send you some :)
pcrene
Posts: 305
Joined: 17 May 2008, 15:49

Re: B3 dies without errors

Post by pcrene »

Hello

Yes it must be cumin cheese......tastefull......

My B3 is the main operational bubba, a B2 is full backup and synchonized every week.

a Thiird B2 i use for experiments, AND......if they work out they move to the B3.

Rene
B3 1T + B-Stor 2T, B2 1T as backup
40 users active....
Opensat4all.Com
Cheeseboy
Posts: 789
Joined: 08 Apr 2007, 12:16

Re: B3 dies without errors

Post by Cheeseboy »

One way of handling this is by creating a cron job that (hourly) pings some server, displays the ifconfig data and restarts the network. Output all data to >> /tmp/something.txt together with a timestamp and you can do some easy postmortem analysis without recompiling the kernel.
Hi Ubi (and everyone else),

I've now started putting a script together as per your suggestion.
Do you have any pointers on how to restart the network?

First I tried just calling:

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/networking restart
but it gives me warnings about the restart argument is deprecated, so then I just used stop and then start, redirecting the output to my little log file.
It doesn't shut down the network though, this is the output when using "stop":

Code: Select all

not deconfiguring network interfaces: network file systems still mounted. ... (warning).
Am I looking in the wrong place?
Is there a better way to restart all the network interfaces from my script?

Many thanks!

/Cheeseboy
RandomUsername
Posts: 904
Joined: 09 Oct 2009, 18:49

Re: B3 dies without errors

Post by RandomUsername »

You could try:

Code: Select all

ifdown eth0
ifup eth0
But I'm not sure if that would produce the desired results.
Cheeseboy
Posts: 789
Joined: 08 Apr 2007, 12:16

Re: B3 dies without errors

Post by Cheeseboy »

Hi,

Thanks for your input!
That's exactly what I ended up doing, but I'm also not sure if it will do any good.
Also, it doesn't work with eth1, probably because it is not listed in /etc/network/interfaces.

Anyway, here is my noddy little script as it is now:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
outfile=/root/networktest.log
echo "------------------------" >> $outfile
date >> $outfile
ifconfig -a >> $outfile
ping -c 1 192.168.10.89 >> $outfile 2>&1
if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then
        echo "--> Ping failed! - Restarting network..." >> $outfile
        ifdown eth0  >> $outfile 2>&1
        ifconfig eth1 down >> $outfile 2>&1
        ifup eth0 >> $outfile 2>&1
        ifconfig eth1 up >> $outfile 2>&1
        ifconfig -a >> $outfile
fi
Any ideas for improvement are of course welcome!

Cheers,

Cheeseboy

Edit:
Added politeness...
DanielM
Posts: 637
Joined: 28 Mar 2008, 06:37
Location: Sweden

Re: B3 dies without errors

Post by DanielM »

Cheeseboy wrote:Any ideas for improvement are of course welcome!
How about a "sync" at the end to make sure everything is really flushed to disk?

/Daniel
Cheeseboy
Posts: 789
Joined: 08 Apr 2007, 12:16

Re: B3 dies without errors

Post by Cheeseboy »

How about a "sync" at the end to make sure everything is really flushed to disk?
Done. Thanks!
DanielM
Posts: 637
Joined: 28 Mar 2008, 06:37
Location: Sweden

Re: B3 dies without errors

Post by DanielM »

Cheeseboy wrote:
How about a "sync" at the end to make sure everything is really flushed to disk?
Done. Thanks!
Det var så lite så :-)

I will be very interested to hear about your results. My B3 has stopped working a few times and then it has been completely dead as in me having to pull the plug and reinsert it to get it going again. I suspect that means that entire operating system is dead and thus will not run any cron jobs either...

/Daniel
Ubi
Posts: 1549
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 09:01

Re: B3 dies without errors

Post by Ubi »

This thread seems to be hung on two parallel thoughts. Is the unit really dead, or did it drop its network connection? It's quite an important difference

ubi
Cheeseboy
Posts: 789
Joined: 08 Apr 2007, 12:16

Re: B3 dies without errors

Post by Cheeseboy »

Hi Ubi.

Agreed.
I think it is dead (in my case anyway), as it doesn't even respond to the power button.
But at least I'll find out if the cron job even executes...
Post Reply