New user's registration have been closed due to high spamming and low trafic on this forum. Please contact forum admins directly if you need an account. Thanks !

B3 User management

Got problems with your B2 or B3? Share and get helped!
anhtuan445
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Nov 2010, 15:44

B3 User management

Post by anhtuan445 »

Hi!

I wanted to ask is there a possibility of managing user rights (directory access, feature access) and user HDD quota ?

If there isn't please help me find a solution if I want to share B3 with my family to host files in there but I need to limit the amount of HDD and features each member can use.

Thank you!
Ubi
Posts: 1549
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 09:01

Re: B3 User management

Post by Ubi »

The B3 is based on debian linux. This means you can achieve nearly unlimited specificity in permissions for any files. You can change most permission settings within the file manager of the B3.

However not all of the possibilities can be accessed through the web interface, but you need to log onto the text console (SSH) of the machine. This is a bit of a learning curve, but there is a lot of documentation on the web (also because all linux editions work pretty much the same when it comes to permission management).

Ubi
anhtuan445
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Nov 2010, 15:44

Re: B3 User management

Post by anhtuan445 »

I'm trying to get the quota working but even after doing all the things needed I still get - quotacheck: Cannot find filesystem to check or filesystem not mounted with quota option (running quotacheck -avugm)

I have tried may tutorials but none of them help (http://blog.mserver.nl/2008/07/01/tutor ... and-quota/).

Please help me find a solution to this problem.

Thank you!
Ubi
Posts: 1549
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 09:01

Re: B3 User management

Post by Ubi »

did you mount the home partition with quotacheck enabled?

Ubi
anhtuan445
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Nov 2010, 15:44

Re: B3 User management

Post by anhtuan445 »

I tried to put " ,usrquota,grpquota " to one or both of partitions in /etc/fstab/ . Should it be on /home or on / ?
Then I did -
touch /quota.user /quota.group
chmod 600 /quota.*
mount -o remount /
mount -o remount /home

PS! Tried both aquota and quota in those commands, didn't make any difference. Also did shutdowns in different places but same result.

After this the "quotacheck -avugm" fails with "quotacheck: Cannot find filesystem to check or filesystem not mounted with quota option"
Ubi
Posts: 1549
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 09:01

Re: B3 User management

Post by Ubi »

what is the output of the

Code: Select all

mount
command?
Does it indicate quota mounted? E.g. it should look something like this:

Code: Select all

[root@wallach:/~]$ mount
...
/dev/sdb2 on /home type ext3 (rw,nodev,usrquota)
...
Ubi
anhtuan445
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Nov 2010, 15:44

Re: B3 User management

Post by anhtuan445 »

/dev/sda1 on / type ext3 (rw,noatime)
tmpfs on /lib/init/rw type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,mode=0755)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev)
udev on /dev type tmpfs (rw,mode=0755)
tmpfs on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,noexec,nosuid,gid=5,mode=620)
/dev/mapper/bubba-storage on /home type ext3 (rw,usrquota,grpquota)
usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)

So it has the /home mounted with usrquota,grpquota.
Ubi
Posts: 1549
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 09:01

Re: B3 User management

Post by Ubi »

great so that's not helping either

But you seem to have put the quota files in / and not in /home (which is the root of that partition). Can you try:

Code: Select all

touch /home/quota.user 
touch /home/quota.group
chmod 600 /home/quota.*
mount -o remount /home
quotacheck -avugm
Ubi
anhtuan445
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Nov 2010, 15:44

Re: B3 User management

Post by anhtuan445 »

I noticed that myself and tried that also, but still get the same error message.
Ubi
Posts: 1549
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 09:01

Re: B3 User management

Post by Ubi »

Well I tried to install quota on my b3 and I got this:

Code: Select all

quotaon: Warning: No quota format detected in the kernel.
I guess you got this same warning when installing the quota package.

If I understand correctly this error means the kernel for the B3 was built without quota management, and needs recompilation to work (which is a pain). There's not a whole lot of documentation on it to be sure though, and it seems so few people leave out quota from stock kernels nobody else has this problem...
I'll send an email to excito to confirm this.

Ubi
Ubi
Posts: 1549
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 09:01

Re: B3 User management

Post by Ubi »

indeed the lsmod command does not show quota enabled in the modules list
anhtuan445
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Nov 2010, 15:44

Re: B3 User management

Post by anhtuan445 »

I was kinda hoping it wasn't the kernel thing :(

Let me know if you find anything out how to solve this issue as I really could use that feature.

Thanks again for all the help!
Marten
Ubi
Posts: 1549
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 09:01

Re: B3 User management

Post by Ubi »

I'll have a loook. One problem is that quota cannot be added to the kernel as a loose module. It should still be possible but a lot less simple than adding the module alone...

Ubi
tor
Posts: 703
Joined: 06 Dec 2006, 12:24
Contact:

Re: B3 User management

Post by tor »

Hi Ubi & anhtuan445,

You are indeed right in that the current B3 kernel doesn't support quota :(

If you are willing to try some none tested, they boot on my test system, packages i have uploaded a kernel and a modules package here: http://b3.update.excito.org/test/.

Download both to your unit fx with wget. Then install them manually, running as root,

Code: Select all

dkpg -i  bubba3-kernel_2.6.35.8-1.armel.deb  bubba3-modules_2.6.35.8-1.armel.deb
Reboot your unit and test again. (And please let us know how that turns out)

/Tor
Co-founder OpenProducts and Ex Excito Developer
anhtuan445
Posts: 11
Joined: 06 Nov 2010, 15:44

Re: B3 User management

Post by anhtuan445 »

Well, we are moving forward.

Now I got this error -

quotacheck -vgum /home
quotacheck: Cannot guess format from filename on /dev/mapper/bubba-storage. Please specify format on commandline.
quotacheck: Cannot find filesystem to check or filesystem not mounted with quota option.

My "mount" command has this line -

Code: Select all

..
/dev/mapper/bubba-storage on /home type ext3 (rw,usrquota,grpquota)
..
so this is ok.

Also I have 2 files (chmod 600, owner root) /home/aquota.user and /home/aqouta.group made.

What should I do next ?

EDIT: sees that the core problem is still there as it can't find a suitable file system with quota support and lsmod doesn't show any module that would be quota support. The install of kernel and modules went well, first time it gave some error about not been able to erase a directory, but I restarted and tried again and it said it's setting up the installed things. After that I rebooted and still the same error.
Last edited by anhtuan445 on 09 Nov 2010, 09:35, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply