New user's registration have been closed due to high spamming and low trafic on this forum. Please contact forum admins directly if you need an account. Thanks !

Installing a windows system on B3?

Got problems with your B2 or B3? Share and get helped!
eramoli

Installing a windows system on B3?

Post by eramoli »

Hi,

Is it possible to install some kind of windwows/graphical system on B3?

I would like to have xterm or something like that to simplify the administration from my Windows 7 computer (xterm in one window, emacs in another and so on). Since I am a beginner as administrator I would appreciate all information.

/Morgan
Kiff

Re: Installing a windows system on B3?

Post by Kiff »

Not really an answer but more in the all information category, I usually just open multiple ssh sessions (Using Putty from the windows machine). :)
novis

Post by novis »

Is it possible to install some kind of windwows/graphical system on B3?
B3 doesn't have a graphics card or output, so I would guess the answer is "no".
I usually just open multiple ssh sessions
Better yet, learn how screen works.

Cheers.
Ubi

Post by Ubi »

wrong

the answer is "yes" if you learn how to run remote X sessions. All you need to install is the Xwindows server and some window manager like afterstep or sawfish. The client needs to be a unix or OSX system or microsoft with something like Cygwin/X installed.
psykopatpastorn

Post by psykopatpastorn »

I suppose you could try to use one of those USB-connected video cards. Might be tough to get the right drivers running on bubba though.
eramoli

Post by eramoli »

Thanks, I will look into this during the weekend.

/Morgan
Ubi wrote:wrong

the answer is "yes" if you learn how to run remote X sessions. All you need to install is the Xwindows server and some window manager like afterstep or sawfish. The client needs to be a unix or OSX system or microsoft with something like Cygwin/X installed.
ryz

Post by ryz »