New user's registration have been closed due to high spamming and low trafic on this forum. Please contact forum admins directly if you need an account. Thanks !

Comparison between windows home server, synology 207 and b2

Got problems with Bubba? Then this forum is for you.
ahab

Comparison between windows home server, synology 207 and b2

Post by ahab »

Hi,

I must say that bubba2 looks impressive but since I'm kind of new to linux and not that much of a "techie" could someone please help me with a comparison between windows home server, synology 207 and the bubba2?

I guess that the strong points of whs and synology are usability which is important for me, and I'm therefore extra curious about that aspect of the bubba2.

I've previously had a nas-unit based on linux (freecom fsg-3) but never managed to download and install any new applications at all. Therefore I'm also interested in the preinstalled functionality and have the following short questions:

1. How well does it work with my outlook mail-client and calendar?
2. How easy is it to set up a vpn?
3. Is it possible to install wordpress or b2evolution as a blogengine?
4. Is it possible to install gallery2 for handling images?
5. Is it possible to install joomla for content management?
6. Can I stream music, movies and internet radio to my other computers?
7. Can I install an external tv-card (maybe usb) and use it to stream tv as well?
8. Can I install mediawiki or another wiki-application?
10. How hard is it to get the back-up application to work?
11. How secure is it to use the mail- and webserver of the bubba2 I have a static IP-adress at home.
12. Is is possible to use all of the services above at the same time or is performance inadequate?
Cheeseboy

Post by Cheeseboy »

EDIT: I guess no is your answer, as I have no experience with either Windows Home Server or Synology... Here goes anyways:

Hello,

My answers are based on the first Bubba as I'm still waiting for Bubba 2 to arrive...