New user's registration have been closed due to high spamming and low trafic on this forum. Please contact forum admins directly if you need an account. Thanks !

How do i connect externally via FTP? get connection refused

Got problems with your B2 or B3? Share and get helped!
86ivar
Posts: 148
Joined: 02 Oct 2010, 11:08

How do i connect externally via FTP? get connection refused

Post by 86ivar »

Hi.
I want to connect via ftp to my bubba 2.
I have tried to mount via map network drive, also tired "connect to a web site..." option in the map network drive window. Get no access.
I Have also tried filezilla, port 21 and 20, i get connection refused all the time.

I have enabled all the options in the bubba settings:
Allow ftp access
Allow anonymous ftp access (is that safe when thinking of hackers?)
In the firewall, all the settings is on, including the open port 21.
I have also tried to open port 20.
SSH is enabled.

Am i supposed to write anything after the ip adress? like xyz.xyz.xyz.xyz/username ?
What should i write in map network drive? i get error if i only use my ip, so i tried ftp://myip, http://myip
ftp://myip/username and so on...

Have i missed something?

Thanks for replies in advance.

Windows 7 64 bit
RandomUsername
Posts: 904
Joined: 09 Oct 2009, 18:49

Re: How do i connect externally via FTP? get connection refu

Post by RandomUsername »

Try it from a command line:

Code: Select all

ftp
open [ip address]
See if that works.
Cheeseboy
Posts: 789
Joined: 08 Apr 2007, 12:16

Re: How do i connect externally via FTP? get connection refu

Post by Cheeseboy »

Hi 86ivar,
Allow ftp access
Allow anonymous ftp access (is that safe when thinking of hackers?)
In the firewall, all the settings is on, including the open port 21.
I have also tried to open port 20.
SSH is enabled.
First check that proftp is running properly. If you have SSH access, use ps:

Code: Select all

$ ps -ef | grep proftp
Are you trying to access it from your internal network, or from outside?
From your internal network, it should just work out of the box.
Try using the IP address rather than the host name from your Windows box.
If it is from the outside, more considerations might have to be taken, with firewalls, port forwards etc.
If so, please tell us a bit more about your network setup.

Best regards,

Cheeseboy
86ivar
Posts: 148
Joined: 02 Oct 2010, 11:08

Re: How do i connect externally via FTP? get connection refu

Post by 86ivar »

ftp open [ip adress] : nothing happens.

ps -e | grep proftp, i get:
username 11337 11230 0 21:20 pts/0 00:00:00 grep proftp

i want to connect to it from my own pc at school, or anywhere else i might be. In other words, from the outside. it works fine in my internal network.
I have my schools network at home, dont know if there is any firewalls etc. but I think they have a restriction that makes it hard to upload torrents due to piracy.
Is there any other way to make a network folder to it in windows if this is too difficult?
looking at the manual, ftp connection from the outside should be easy.

Ty
RandomUsername
Posts: 904
Joined: 09 Oct 2009, 18:49

Re: How do i connect externally via FTP? get connection refu

Post by RandomUsername »

It looks like your FTP server isn't running. Either try restarting it from the web interface or do this as root from the command line on the Bubba:

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/proftpd start
Cheeseboy
Posts: 789
Joined: 08 Apr 2007, 12:16

Re: How do i connect externally via FTP? get connection refu

Post by Cheeseboy »

ps -e | grep proftp, i get:
username 11337 11230 0 21:20 pts/0 00:00:00 grep proftp
Weird, that looks like it is not running, but if it works internally, it is.

Most workplaces and schools limit the port numbers allowed for outgoing traffic.
For example my workplace only allow port 80 (web) and 22 (SSH) outgoing.

All you need is SSH though, so as long as you get that, you are OK.
SSH will let you tunnel all other things, so you can work around all those pesky policies.

If you are using a Linux machine, or if you have something like Cygwin installed on windows (strongly recommended), you could just do:
ssh username@hostname.com -L9921:yourinternalbubbaname:21 -L9920:yourinternalbubbaname:20

Then ssh will open two local listener ports (20 and 21) and forward all traffic to your bubba.
If you use Windows and putty, it should look something like this:
[image removed]
The port numbers in the screenshot are of no relevance to FTP, you will have to replace them with 20 and 21.

Best regards,

Cheeseboy
Last edited by Cheeseboy on 08 Jun 2013, 09:25, edited 2 times in total.
86ivar
Posts: 148
Joined: 02 Oct 2010, 11:08

Re: How do i connect externally via FTP? get connection refu

Post by 86ivar »

i tried to restart the ftp with the command, get:
starting ftp server: proftpd - ipv4 getaddrinfo 'bubba' error: name or service not known
warning, unable to determine ip adress of bubba
error: no valid servers configured
fatal:error processing configuration file /etc/proftpd/proftpd.conf
Failed!

Maybe the settings is messed up because i have had some power surges?
Cheeseboy
Posts: 789
Joined: 08 Apr 2007, 12:16

Re: How do i connect externally via FTP? get connection refu

Post by Cheeseboy »

Hi again,

Could you please send us the output of the following commands?

Code: Select all

$ hostname

Code: Select all

$ cat /etc/hosts

Code: Select all

$ sudo ifconfig -a
Best regards,

Cheeseboy
zne
Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Sep 2011, 00:27

Re: How do i connect externally via FTP? get connection refu

Post by zne »

Hey guys!
I just got my B3 today and it looks like i have the same problem with ftp not running. Im not that used to Linux either. But i will try to post what you ask for and then maybe you could help me..


$ hostname

Code: Select all

b3
$ cat /etc/hosts

Code: Select all

127.0.0.1       localhost.localdomain   localhost
::1     ip6-localhost   ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
ff02::3 ip6-allhosts
$ sudo ifconfig -a

Code: Select all

br0       Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0b:6b:7d:5e:2a
          inet addr:192.168.10.1  Bcast:192.168.10.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::222:2ff:fe00:17f9/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:293693 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:355919 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:68399283 (65.2 MiB)  TX bytes:177588227 (169.3 MiB)

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:22:02:00:17:f8
          inet addr:213.80.105.149  Bcast:213.80.105.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::222:2ff:fe00:17f8/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:114506 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:127873 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:49794102 (47.4 MiB)  TX bytes:40921730 (39.0 MiB)
          Interrupt:11

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:22:02:00:17:f9
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING PROMISC MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:15

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:90 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:90 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:7566 (7.3 KiB)  TX bytes:7566 (7.3 KiB)

mon.wlan0 Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-0B-6B-7D-5E-2A-01-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00                                              -00
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:20235 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:3013298 (2.8 MiB)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0b:6b:7d:5e:2a
          inet6 addr: fe80::20b:6bff:fe7d:5e2a/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:295027 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:365609 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:72715500 (69.3 MiB)  TX bytes:187708301 (179.0 MiB)

i hope this tells you something :)

Thanks! /zne
Cheeseboy
Posts: 789
Joined: 08 Apr 2007, 12:16

Re: How do i connect externally via FTP? get connection refu

Post by Cheeseboy »

Hi,

I find it strange that you do not have the hostname of b3/bubba itself in the /etc/hosts file.
This is mine:

Code: Select all

$ cat /etc/hosts
127.0.0.1	localhost.localdomain	localhost
192.168.10.1	b3.localdomain	b3
...
The error message sent in by ivar86 indicates this entry missing might very well be the cause.

Now, I have been tinkering with some scripts when I first got my b3 in order to get the DCHP/DNS functionality to work as I wanted. This was like a year ago, so I don't remember exactly what I did, and I'm not sure if what I have in /etc/hosts is standard. If you use another DHCP server on your network to assign an address to the bubba , it will not be as easy as to just modify the file, there is something wrong in a script that should update the file...

Perhaps best to let Excito comment on this...
Last edited by Cheeseboy on 13 Sep 2011, 13:29, edited 1 time in total.
Eek
Posts: 372
Joined: 23 Dec 2007, 03:03
Location: the Netherlands

Re: How do i connect externally via FTP? get connection refu

Post by Eek »

yeah, I agree, there is an entry missing in the hosts file
if you do a

Code: Select all

 cat /etc/proftpd/proftpd.conf|grep ServerName
this servername should be in the /etc/hosts
I guess this should do it:

Code: Select all

su -
echo "192.168.10.1   b3.localdomain   b3">>/etc/hosts
/etc/init.d/proftpd start
cheers
Eek
zne
Posts: 5
Joined: 13 Sep 2011, 00:27

Re: How do i connect externally via FTP? get connection refu

Post by zne »

Eek wrote:yeah, I agree, there is an entry missing in the hosts file
if you do a

Code: Select all

 cat /etc/proftpd/proftpd.conf|grep ServerName
this servername should be in the /etc/hosts
I guess this should do it:

Code: Select all

su -
echo "192.168.10.1   b3.localdomain   b3">>/etc/hosts
/etc/init.d/proftpd start
That did it man! Thanks! =)
post4ivo
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Apr 2009, 01:51

Re: How do i connect externally via FTP? get connection refu

Post by post4ivo »

Hello,

After a new install of my Bubba 2 the ftp server wasn't working. I'm a linux noob so I'm trying to figure out how to solve my problem through this forum.

I tried the "start" command and got the message that the serveradress couldn't be found. When I tried to list the adress in the hostfile it read: "Bubba"

So I figured that this is the same problem as above and I tried to edit the hostfile the way you provided.
I tried "192.168.178.47 b2.localdomain b2" and "192.168.178.47 Bubba.localdomain Bubba" but that didn't do the trick (192.168.178.47 is the local adress of my Bubba2). So I think this is not the right serveradress. Might any of you know which to use?

Thanks.
Ubi
Posts: 1549
Joined: 17 Jul 2007, 09:01

Re: How do i connect externally via FTP? get connection refu

Post by Ubi »

how can it not be the right serveraddress if you are sure it is the address for the B2? May be you are not sure of the correct address? what if you FTP to the IP address directly? Can you ping the IP address directly? What's in the log files?
post4ivo
Posts: 4
Joined: 07 Apr 2009, 01:51

Re: How do i connect externally via FTP? get connection refu

Post by post4ivo »

Well, been tinkering some and managed to get it working! :)

Thanks for all the instructions in this post!!
Post Reply