New user's registration have been closed due to high spamming and low trafic on this forum. Please contact forum admins directly if you need an account. Thanks !

How to build a kernel for Debian on Excito B3

Discuss development on Bubba
fredrikj

How to build a kernel for Debian on Excito B3

Post by fredrikj »

I would like to learn how to build a custom kernel package for Debian on Excito B3. However I need some help with that.

I'm a developer by trade and quite comfortable managing Debian systems. Howerver C is not my home turf and I suppose the kernel needs to be cross compiled on a X86_64 to avoid a compile cycle measured in days.

I have found https://github.com/Excito/kernel-5.10 and I suppose a good start is to check out that repository on my laptop. Then what? Merge it with a more recent upstream repo? How? And then?

Help! :)
fredrikj

Re: How to build a kernel for Debian on Excito B3

Post by fredrikj »

My primary goal is to be able to build the most recent kernel version of Debian, 5.10.162.

An awesome but perhaps less likely stretch goal for me is to attempt the most recent Debian testing kernel. Right now 6.1.12.

https://tracker.debian.org/pkg/linux
Gordon

Post by Gordon »

I have not built a uImage kernel for quite some time now. Too much of a hassle. The last one I built I configured with an initrd to serve as a secondary 'BIOS' that enables me to boot a regular zImage. This idea originally came from Sakaki and I refined it to be more transparent towards the final running system. I have the methods as well as the preboot kernel available on my GitHub account (https://github.com/gordonb3/bubba-b3-kernel). To build your own kernel you also need the buildkernel-b3 script from Sakaki (https://github.com/sakaki-/buildkernel-b3).